Inside Westminster - Click here to sign up

Home home > cardinal

Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O'Connor receives Honorary Doctorate of Divinity
posted on 02 December 2010
Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O'Connor receives his Honorary Doctorate
Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O'Connor receives his Honorary Doctorate

Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O'Connor, Archbishop Emeritus of Westminster has  received an Honorary Doctorate of Divinity from Heythrop College. 

The Graduate Presentation Ceremony took place at Imperial College on 1 December 2010.

Cardinal Cormac was Bishop of Arundel and Brighton before being appointed to Westminster.  He served as Chairman of the Bishops' Committee for Europe, and as Vice-President of the Laity Commission.  From 1983 to 2000 he was Chairman of the Committee for Christian Unity, then Chairman of the Department for Mission and Unity.  From 1982 to 2000 he was Co-Chairman of the Anglican and Roman Catholic International Commission (ARCIC).  In 2000 he was awarded a Doctorate of Divinity by the Anglican Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr George Carey, in recognition of his work for Christian unity.

At the awards ceremony, two College Fellowships were also awarded: to Fr Kevin Fox SJ (Trustee Governor of the College for 22 years), and to Revd Roy Dorey, a Baptist Minister and MA Pastoral Theology graduate. Roy was Assistant Chaplain at Heythrop from 2002-06, then Chaplain (2006-10).

Contact details:

Terms & Conditions Privacy Accessibility Sitemap